Australian Embassy
Andorra and Equatorial Guinea

Travel to Australia

Last update:  22 September

Travel restrictions in Australia

Travelling from Australia:

Since 25 March, there is a ban on Australian citizens and permanent residents travelling overseas as part of the Australian Biosecurity Act. This is managed by the Australian Border Force. For more information, visit the  Australian Department of Home Affairs website. 

Returning to Australia:

You can travel to Australia if you are an Australian citizen, a permanent resident or a New Zealand citizen residing in Australia. Please note that there are limited flights options from Spain due to flight cancellations and travel restrictions.

In order to manage quarantine arrangements, the Australian Government announced  a limit on passengers on international arrivals. This will apply subject to further advice on quarantine capacity from each state and territory. These arrangements will be reviewed regularly. You can read more about returning to Australia on the Smartraveller website.

When you arrive in Australia, you must quarantine for 14 days at designated facilities in your port of arrival. You will be transported directly to the designated facilities after appropriate immigration, customs and enhanced health checks. You may be required to pay for the costs of your quarantine. To find out more on how quarantine works in your state or territory, contact your state or territory government health department.

More information about border control measures here

Further information:

On 18 September, Australia’s National Cabinet agreed that all jurisdictions would continue to work towards enabling more Australians to return home by increasing the current caps on international passenger arrivals. Read the official statement here.

If you have been unable to return to Australia due to COVID-19 restrictions and are experiencing financial distress, you may be eligible to access financial support from the Australian Government. Read more here.